Auto Fixtures



Show Results

World Superstock 1000

Monday 29th April 2013


Local wildcard rider Bo Bendsneijder took a popular but narrow win in the second round of the Pata European Junior Cup, powered by Honda Racing, at Assen in the Netherlands this afternoon. The Dutch rider’s margin of victory over second-placed Augusto Fernandez from Spain was just 0.006s.

As in the opening round at Aragon in Spain two weeks ago, when the winning margin was just 0.003s, the leading positions changed constantly, with Bendsneijder fending off a number of attacks from Guillaume Raymond, Adrien Pittet, Michael Canducci and Kevin Manfredi who all took turns to lead on the final lap.

In the run to the flag it was Fernandez who proved the biggest challenger as both he and Bendsneijder appeared to cross the line side by side, with the first six riders covered by less than a second.

Behind the first two, Italian Michael Canducci claimed his second podium placing in as many races with third, while Peter Sebastyen from Hungary rode well to take fourth at the flag from Italian Manfredi and pole-sitter Raymond from France.

Adrien Pittet was seventh, Robin Anne eighth, Javier Orellana ninth and Illan Fernandez who set the fastest lap of the race finishing in tenth position. Ilya Mykhalchyk was 11th, less than two seconds from the victory while Riccardo Filippini was a lonely 12th.

Josh Harland was the top British finisher in 14th ahead of compatriot James Flitcroft while Spain’s Miguel Aranda completed the points finishers. Round one winner Jake Lewis from New Zealand was an early faller as was Jesper Hubner, both unhurt and ready to battle again in Monza. Sabrina Paiuta and Ali Adriansyah Rusmiputro suffered technical issues while Andrea Zanella retired with a handful of laps remaining.

With Honda’s new CBR500R machines making the Pata European Junior Cup one of the most wide open championships within the World Superbike paddock in 2013, round three at the high speed circuit of Monza will be a race not to be missed.

Race Result:

1 Bo Bendsneijder (NED)
2 Augusto Fernandez (ESP)
3 Michael Canducci (ITA)
4 Peter Sebastyen (FRA)
5 Kevin Manfredi (ITA)
6 Guillaume Raymond (FRA)
7 Adrien Pettit (SUI)
8 Robin Anne (FRA)
9 Javier Orellana (ESP)
10 Illen Fernandez (ESP)

Championship points after two rounds:

1 Michael Canducci 32, 2 Jake Lewis 25, 3 Bo Bendsneijder 25, 4 Guillaume Raymond 23, 5 Peter Sebastyen 21, 6 Augusto Fernandez 20, 7 Albert Arenas 20, 8 Kevin Manfredi 18, 9 Ilan Fernandez 17, 10 Robin Anne 13.
Next round: Monza, Italy - 10-12 May


Autofixtures is brought to you by Positive Lending Solutions